No image published for this recall

No image published for this recall

Ford

Official notice

16 Apr 2026

Last checked

16 Apr 2026

High riskHealth Canada

An official Health Canada notice concerns Ford. Issue: on certain vehicles, the software update installed by a ford dealer during recall 24s79 (transport canada recall no. 2024-781) may not be effective. As a result, a second repair is required. On certain vehicles, a problem inside the high-voltage battery could cause a short circuit. If this happens, there could be a loss of power to the wheels and/or the high-voltage battery could overheat. Note: this recall replaces transport canada recall no. 2025-628. This recall only affects certain plug-in hybrid vehicles (phev) equipped with a 2.5 l engine. Safety risk: a loss of power to the wheels could increase the risk of a crash. A battery that overheats can create a fire risk, even while the vehicle is parked and turned off. Corrective actions: to reduce the safety risk, ford advises that you set the maximum charge setting of your vehicle at 80% and to only use normal ev mode until the recall repairs have been completed. Ford will notify owners by mail. The corrective actions for this recall are under development. Published 2026-04-16.

What to do now

Please see corrective actions section below

Recall number

81688

Official notice

2026-04-16

The hazard

Issue: on certain vehicles, the software update installed by a ford dealer during recall 24s79 (transport canada recall no. 2024-781) may not be effective. As a result, a second repair is required. On certain vehicles, a problem inside the high-voltage battery could cause a short circuit. If this happens, there could be a loss of power to the wheels and/or the high-voltage battery could overheat. Note: this recall replaces transport canada recall no. 2025-628. This recall only affects certain plug-in hybrid vehicles (phev) equipped with a 2.5 l engine. Safety risk: a loss of power to the wheels could increase the risk of a crash. A battery that overheats can create a fire risk, even while the vehicle is parked and turned off. Corrective actions: to reduce the safety risk, ford advises that you set the maximum charge setting of your vehicle at 80% and to only use normal ev mode until the recall repairs have been completed. Ford will notify owners by mail. The corrective actions for this recall are under development.

How to check if you're affected

Compare the VIN on your vehicle against the official list. If your VIN is listed, follow the official notice.

Other

RA RA-81688

Recall Numbers

81688

Checked manually this time?

The app watches your VIN and alerts you automatically next time — no searching, no checking back.

Turn on automatic VIN checks

Affected products

Product 1

Year: 2020, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 2

Year: 2021, Make: LINCOLN, Model: CORSAIR

Product 3

Year: 2021, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 4

Year: 2022, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 5

Year: 2022, Make: LINCOLN, Model: CORSAIR

Product 6

Year: 2023, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 7

Year: 2023, Make: LINCOLN, Model: CORSAIR

Product 8

Year: 2024, Make: LINCOLN, Model: CORSAIR

Product 9

Year: 2024, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 10

Year: 2025, Make: LINCOLN, Model: CORSAIR

Product 11

Year: 2025, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Product 12

Year: 2026, Make: FORD, Model: ESCAPE

Risk / hazard

Issue: on certain vehicles, the software update installed by a ford dealer during recall 24s79 (transport canada recall no. 2024-781) may not be effective. As a result, a second repair is required. On certain vehicles, a problem inside the high-voltage battery could cause a short circuit. If this happens, there could be a loss of power to the wheels and/or the high-voltage battery could overheat. Note: this recall replaces transport canada recall no. 2025-628. This recall only affects certain plug-in hybrid vehicles (phev) equipped with a 2.5 l engine. Safety risk: a loss of power to the wheels could increase the risk of a crash. A battery that overheats can create a fire risk, even while the vehicle is parked and turned off. Corrective actions: to reduce the safety risk, ford advises that you set the maximum charge setting of your vehicle at 80% and to only use normal ev mode until the recall repairs have been completed. Ford will notify owners by mail. The corrective actions for this recall are under development.

Where it was sold

The source does not list specific retailers. See the official notice for where affected products were sold.

Location 1

CA · Canada

Affected area 1

CA · Canada

Company & contacts

Manufacturer

Not provided

Phone

Not provided

Brand: Ford, Lincoln.

Source & status

Source

Health Canada

Tier

beta

Category

VEHICLES

App estimate

high

Recall details

Recall number

81688

Source tier

beta

Documents, notices & source

See the official notice and source documents for full details.

View full official notice
Something wrong on this page?

Related recalls

CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada26 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada26 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Medium riskHealth Canada19 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada19 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Lincoln - Ford

Medium riskHealth Canada11 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Medium riskHealth Canada11 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Medium riskHealth Canada10 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada8 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada8 Jun 2026
CA
No image published for this recall

Ford

Risk not stated by sourceHealth Canada3 Jun 2026

Weekly recall digest

Get next week's recalls before you need them.

One email every Monday — official-source recalls for your country, and nothing else. Unsubscribe from any email.

The digest is the slow lane — one email a week. For instant, severity-gated alerts the moment a notice is published, get the app.

This recall was published 16 Apr 2026. The next one won't wait for you to search.

RecallScope watches official sources for the brands and VINs you follow, and alerts you the moment a new notice is published.